Containment strategy

The other day I wrote about being introverted and self-contained. And I was thinking that there’s a paradox in me. I am self-contained but I want to keep my heart open. It is not an easy process. I was the kid who could be content being on my own, playing a game, riding the bike or idling walking in a field. But that didn’t mean I never wanted anyone with me. I played football out in the street with my buddies. I was in the Boy Scouts.

Jump to now. I’m still content on my own. I still do things with my friends. The thing is, being the typical introvert, I don’t want a whole passel of friends. The friends I want, and the friends I have, are quality friends. And quality trumps quantity for me.

I’ll say it again–I feel a love very deeply. Instead of packing it away, never to see the light of day, I will let it see the light. And the rain that’s about to fall. Like the hymn says, this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.

2 thoughts on “Containment strategy

Leave a Reply

