Middle of the road

We tend to hate the middle of the road. It’s boring, there’s nothing there. All the excitement is on the edges, the fringes. That’s where the action is.

May I throw this out, as food for thought?

I saw this passage in a work email I got today. I believe it’s from the Quran…

“Always adopt a middle, moderate, regular course whereby you will reach your target (Paradise).” Sahih Al-Bukhari, Volume 8, Hadith 470

And it got me to thinking. The great religions talk about the middle way, the straight and narrow, the Middle Path. Could they be on to something? I’m not saying the fruits on the edges aren’t enticing and tempting, but I’m not scared to be in the middle.

Leave a Reply

