Forgivable blackness

Three things Americans have trouble discussing…

race; sex; race and sex.

After the Tiger Woods news broke, and the number of women he was allegedly with grew, I feared something. I feared that the stereotype of the promiscuous black male would get going, and that bullseye would be on Woods’ back. And I’m sure it confirmed in some peoples’ minds what they believe Tiger, and all black men, to be.

I know that for the rest of my life, I’m going to have to defend myself against anyone who dares try to make me into a two-dimensional cardboard cutout, out of a black man, an introvert, or what have you. I’m ready for it. It gets tiring having to constantly re-educate people, but such is life–it has to be done.

I sort of hate to dip into vulgarities here, but I need to, if only to assert myself. And to tell a truth. There is this myth of the unbridled sexual power of the black male, as this article states. I’m not saying that I don’t like sex, but I am more than my penis, or the size of it. A lot more.

I guess people grasp onto stereotypes because they are easier to process than the whole, complex entities we are. One day, we’ll stop being so lazy.

Unforgivable Blackness | Bob Duggan | Big Think.

Leave a Reply

