Not for the last time

Can we come to an understanding on something? Please?

My being an introvert does not preclude me from having healthy, stable, fulfilling friendships and relationships. I read on this blog where introversion must be overcome to reach that goal or that state. I was a little blunt in my comment, and I’ll be blunt here:

Fireworks are not the hallmark of a good, healthy, stable relationship.

You need love, compassion, empathy, loyalty, tolerance, depth. They’re not sexy. But they do last. And just because I’m an INTP doesn’t hinder me from having both a stable and dynamic relationship.

People want relationships–hey, so do I–but often skim the surface and are unwilling to do the deep dive, the work it takes to make a relationship work.

And another thing–the most important relationship you have is with yourself. Trite? Yes. But also true.

I know this is not the last time I’m going to see this sort of thing. I’m ready.

3 thoughts on “Not for the last time

  1. Introversion, and the ideas behind the Myers Briggs is to put a label on something that is fluid. I believe that we all are capable of being extroverted and/or introverted depending on our desire and our will. People use the “Introvert” label to often avoid making social contact.

    The idea of “Introversion” must be overcome, not Introversion itself.

    • I think you’re conflating the terms shyness and introversion, which are two different things. If there’s anything to overcome, it’s shyness, and having shy people feel comfortable in making social contact.

Leave a Reply

