Studying in the henhouse

For the first time in years, I stepped into a church for a service that wasn’t a wedding. And it was strange–sort of being like a fox in the henhouse. I haven’t opened a Bible in years–I’m more prone to look at the I Ching or the Tao Te Ching these days.

I felt like an interloper, sort of like I didn’t belong–even though I was greeted like an old friend by people I didn’t know. I’m actually glad, though, that I study/dabble/look at Zen and Buddhism. I feel like spirituality is the search for your better self, as you navigate through life’s storms and calm waters. The totems and rituals of religion, I can do without.

Leave a Reply

