Quit now?

Duke Ellington asked the question best:

“Retire to what?”

I’m 38–whatever that means. I was talking to someone last night about ages, and she said she didn’t feel her 39 years, as I don’t feel my 38 years. I saw my high school guidance counselor, who’s helped my mom, me and my brother navigate through the sometimes-difficult waters of American adolescence, and she said something that’s stuck with me…

Age is a state of mind, and it’s not a state I want to travel in.

Sounds about right to me.

Sometimes the body may not be willing, ready to retire, but the mind is ready to go. And the body and the mind have to balance each other, work in concert. There’s no retirement as long as the mind has juice.

Leave a Reply

