Laments

The hamster wheel these days feels more like the rails I ride every morning into and out of the city. After two years of driving 120 miles a day to and from work, I’m grateful for the time I have on the train to read. But many times I wish–long for–the time to think. Driving gave me that opportunity that the rails, in their monotonous way, have seemingly stripped away. Hence fewer blog posts. Plus, things are ok. Not like three years ago, when I was blogging 10-20 times a day–with damn good reason. So yes, I sit here now (with here known only to me), lamenting my not being able to sit in a park on a chilly afternoon and just observe, or be a flaneur, or just sit and read without expectation. Laments, yes, but dreams of quiet days to come. Sometime.

Leave a Reply

