Plumped up

I’m reading this article on Tyler Perry vs. Spike Lee–my money’s on Spike. And one of the commenters makes a point about how Perry’s movies (and frankly, most of Hollywood) flattened out black characters. It’s much more lucrative to portray me as cardboard and a stereotype. It’s easier to comprehend me as cardboard rather than someone who likes both Living Colour and Tori Amos.

It’s often said than only 20% of the human brain’s actual power is utilized. And the way we tend to comprehend each other, I’d say that figure is, at times, too generous.

/snark

The trouble with movies as a business is that it’s an art, and the trouble with movies as art is that it’s a business. – Charlton Heston

I’m not flat–one look in the mirror tells the tale. If I don’t consider myself flat, psychologically, neither should you. I’m not a porcupine, incapable of being held. Whatever fear you feel when you see me, doesn’t come from me–it’s from you.

Leave a Reply

