TFTD–the super post

Yesterday I worked from home, and in my surfing my working, I found many, many TFTDs to post–maybe 200? Instead of parceling them out over 200 post, or one long post, I’m chopping them up into four manageable portions–some with comments. Enjoy (and yes, I hope to do some actual writing soon.)

It is a curious thing that people only ask if you are enjoying yourself when you aren’t. – Edith Nesbit (I hear an introvert’s lament in here)

America is a large friendly dog in a small room. Every time it wags its tail it knocks over a chair. – Arnold J. Toynbee (Yeah, I’ll get in trouble for this)

Be like a duck. Calm on the surface, but always paddling like the dickens underneath. – Michael Caine (Another for the introverts–which most actors are)

When you look into a mirror/Do you see a face you hardly recognize? “Paper Lies,” by Marillion

Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor. – Anne Lamott

If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable. – Seneca

Sometimes you have to be your own hero.–Anon.

Good writers are often excellent at a hundred other things, but writing promises a greater latitude for the ego. – John Cheever

Waiting is painful. Forgetting is painful. But not knowing which to do is the worse kind of suffering. – Paulo Coelho

It is good to be without vices, but it is not good to be without temptations. – Walter Bagehot (heh.)

How good do you have to be to be a good person? (Damn fair question…)

It is no wonder that people are so horrible when they start their life as children. – Kingsley Amis (more heh)

Our knowledge can only be finite, while our ignorance must necessarily be infinite. – Karl Popper (at first I didn’t agree with this, but thinking about more, I can see it)

Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned. – Peter Marshall

I don’t try to describe the future. I try to prevent it. – Ray Bradbury (I remember fondly reading Fahrenheit 451 in high school)

While I had often said that I wanted to die in bed, what I really meant was that in my old age I wanted to be stepped on by an elephant while making love. – Roger Zelazny

A fanatic is a man who consciously over compensates a secret doubt. – Aldous Huxley

Dreaming men are haunted men. – Stephen Vincent Benet (I dreamt last night I was in London–am I haunted?)

Life is not always not always what one wants it to be., but to make the best of it as it is the only way of being happy. – Jennie Churchill

I will leave no memoirs. – Comte de Lautreamont (This blog counts as sort of a memoir, so that’s that)

I know what you think, and you know what I think. It is enough just to be together sitting around a fire. We do not have to tell each other our thoughts or what we might be going to do.–

Prospector Harry Moody commenting on their long friendship to author Sigurd Olson, Reflections from the North Country

And when is there time to remember, to sift, to weigh, to estimate, to total? – Tillie Olsen (absolutely true–when do we have the time to process what is happening to us? why are we running away from that processing)

Genius ain’t anything more than elegant common sense. – Josh Billings

Every closed eye is not sleeping, and every open eye is not seeing. – Bill Cosby (zen-like…)

When a man is treated like a beast, he says, ‘After all, I’m human.’ When he behaves like a beast, he says ‘After all, I’m only human.’ – Karl Kraus (hmm…)

Man’s heart away from nature becomes hard. – Standing Bear (thank goodness for the beach)

I am not a writer except when I write. – Juan Carlos Onetti

All things come to him who waits, provided he knows what he is waiting for. – Woodrow Wilson (do you know?)

Friendship always benefits; Love sometimes injures. – Seneca the Younger (still should try for love–just don’t go in blind)

I’m not in this world to live up to your expectations and you’re not in this world to live up to mine. – Bruce Lee (simple, direct)

Blessed are the hearts that can bend; they shall never be broken. – Albert Camus

Ah, women. They make the highs higher and the lows more frequent. – Friedrich Nietzsche

It is easier to avoid the snares of love than to escape once you are in that net. – Titus Lucretius

The problem is we need much more moral content. – Cornel West

Fanaticism is overcompensation for doubt. – Robertson Davies

Leave a Reply

