Blowing my horn

Last night I went to the Village Vanguard for some jazz, and saw a mesmerizing performance by trumpeter Roy Hargrove. I haven’t seen as much jazz as I’ve wanted to lately, and I’m kicking myself for it for one reason. There’s a intimacy to watching and listening to jazz that is unmatched for the listeners and participants. To watch the band feed off and riff off each other never gets old.

I was sitting in the room and thinking that this is what I want: the intimacy of the experience, the connection, the depth. What was true a few years ago remains so–shallow experiences are dull to me. I want and have to seek rich experiences to be fulfilled. Those experiences don’t have to be–shouldn’t be–daily occurrences. They may not be spontaneous. But they should be special.

One thought on “Blowing my horn

  1. This says what I’ve been thinking and thinking lately. I’m an introvert but that doesn’t completely describe me. What I truly desire and breathe is intimacy of the experience, be it within a relationship, with myself, with nature, with art, with music…

Leave a Reply

