Over the hill

Never mind how the race went Sunday. I ran my first duathlon–left the transition with the wrong shoes on, and cramped up twice on the bike. Never mind that. It’s what happening, or is seeming to happen. The experience seems to be transformative. There’s an energy now that wasn’t quite there before. Maybe it’s from the accomplishment of having put in months of work towards a goal, and having it pay off (despite having finished last in my category). The world seems a little different. It looks the same as it always has, but perhaps it’s a little more open now.

There’s a Sojourner Truth quote I saw just after I finished the race…

It is the mind that makes the body.

No question…I could have thrown in the towel from the cramping. But I persevered, walked up the hills with the bike, got back on, and completed the ride. That was huge–and transformative.

Leave a Reply

